The Hay Synagogue, as a prayer house, is on the lists even before 1850. In 1886, it was built and received the status of a synagogue. The synagogue was built in stone and covered with a metal roof. A large courtyard adjoined the building. In 1939, three synagogues at once were being built in the courtyard. A yeshiva worked at the synagogue. The neighboring territories belonged to Jewish families, which could contribute to the expansion of the synagogue space. By 1940, the synagogue building and all the facilities inside the courtyard were in very good condition. In 1940 it was confiscated by the Soviet authorities. In 1941, the Gestapo was located in the buildings and cellars. After 1944, there was an employment office here. In 1991, the building of the synagogue was transferred to Agudath Israel and became one of the most vibrant and active Jewish centers of the city.
The synagogue building was returned 50 years after it was confiscated by the Soviet authorities. Many remembered the building of the Gestapo located here during the war and the executions that took place near this territory. In addition, local residents who lived in the yards next to the synagogue were known for betraying Jews, who were hiding in numerous cellars, to the Germans and Romanians. In the 1990s the synagogue began its active work. The focus at that time was made on children and youth. Yeshivas were opened for boys and girls.